Thursday, April 30, 2015

Ride the wind

 If you surrender to the wind, you can ride it.  ~ Toni Morrison

- How willing are you to let go and experience some situations as they arise?

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Garden wonders

The many great gardens of the world, of literature and poetry, of painting and music, of religion and architecture, all make the point as clear as possible: the soul cannot thrive in the absence of a garden.  ~ Thomas More

- How vibrant is your garden (literal or metaphorical)?

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Inner motivation

Wise people, even though all laws were abolished, would still lead the same life.  ~ Aristophanes

- What central principles guide your life?

Monday, April 27, 2015

Sides of the mountain

To live for some future goal is shallow.  It's the sides of the mountain that sustain life, not the top.  ~ Robert M. Pirsig

- To what extent are you actively engaging with your daily life?

Saturday, April 25, 2015

Who are you?

We are what we believe we are.  ~ C. S. Lewis

- What understanding do you have about yourself?

Friday, April 24, 2015

A little weakness

It's a hard life if you don't weaken.  ~ Stephen King

- Where could you show some vulnerability?

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Turn of the tide

The lowest ebb is the turn of the tide.  ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

- In what area of your life could you restore hope?

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Going forward

We are asleep with compasses in our hands.  ~ W. S. Mervin

- What helps you to chart your course?

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Getting better

Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,
Nothing is going to get better; it's not.  ~ Dr. Seuss

- About what things should you be concerned? 

Monday, April 20, 2015

Celebrate the past

We celebrate the past to awaken the future.  ~ John F. Kennedy

- What do you cherish about your past which can provide direction for the future?

Saturday, April 18, 2015

Good now days

People are always asking about the good old days.   How about the good now days?  ~ Robert M. Young

- What are the good things in your life right now?

Friday, April 17, 2015

Life to everything

Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.  ~ Plato

- In what ways could you enrich your appreciation for music?

Thursday, April 16, 2015

A mark above

If you do things well, do them better.  Be daring, be first, be different, be just.  ~ Anita Roddick

- Where could you show some initiative?

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Quotes and Questions for the Journey

Looking back over the last hundred entries I have asked some diverse questions to stimulate reflection around some pivotal quotes.  These questions are meant to provide enrichment and personal growth.   Consider them meditation nuggets.

- What makes your life rewarding?
- What enriching opportunity awaits you?
- For what are you striving?
- What lies within you to give?
- Where could you spark some warmth?
- How can you get the most out of each day?

My next volume for reflection is 365 Pivotal Quotes and Questions for the Journey.

Care to share my quote quest with others?

On the bright side

Positive anything is better than negative nothing. ~ Elbert Hubbard

- What positive action/thought could you provide today?

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

A worthy goal

If you want to be happy, set a goal that commands your thoughts, liberates your energy, and inspires your hopes.  ~ Andrew Carnegie

- What worthy goal could you set?

Monday, April 13, 2015

Before you

The most sublime act is to set another before you.  ~ William Blake

- To whom could you be an encouragement/support?

Saturday, April 11, 2015

The power of 3

Live, let live, help live. ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

- In what ways could you live to the power of 3?

Friday, April 10, 2015

Making a life

I've learned that making a 'living' is not the same thing as 'making a life'.  ~ Maya Angelou

- How do you make a life?

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Tearful eyes

My eyes were glued on life
and they were full of tears.  ~ Jack Kerouac

- What about the world causes you some concern and sadness?

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Hope and heroism

I like it when a flower or a little tuft of grass grows through a crack in the concrete.  It's so heroic.  ~ George Carlin

- What little seed of hope could you sow?

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Toward the light

Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see the shadow.  ~ Helen Keller

- How do you remain positive?

Monday, April 6, 2015

Find the energy

Ride the energy of your own unique spirit.  ~ Gabrielle Roth

- What gives you energy and enthusiasm for life?

Saturday, April 4, 2015

Purpose of life

The purpose of life is to live, learn, and love.  ~ Christine Rice

- How well are you living up to the three l's?

Friday, April 3, 2015

True wealth

No one becomes rich unless he enriches others.  ~ Andrew Carnegie

- In what ways could you reach out?

Thursday, April 2, 2015


We work to become, not to acquire. ~ Elbert Hubbard

- What are you becoming?

Wednesday, April 1, 2015


Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment.  ~ Jim Rohn

- What areas deserve your focused pursuit?